49th Silicon Symposium

May 29 - 31, 2018 - Edmonton, Alberta, CA


49th Silicon Symposium

49th Silicon Symposium: Celebrating the Chemistry of Bob West, was held in conjunction with the 101st Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition

A very special Si Symposium, honouring Bob West on his 90th birthday and celebrating his chemistry, was held in Edmonton, Canada, May 29-31, 2018 in conjunction with the 101st Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition. It was a tremendous success thanks to our sponsors, our presenters, our participants and all who sent photos that were incorporated into a PowerPoint presentation that was shown during our Welcome Reception and during the banquet.

In addition, we honoured Tamejiro Hiyama who received the Frederic Stanley Kipping Award in Silicon Chemistry at the spring ACS meeting. We also celebrated the chemistry of Jillian Buriak, the 2018 winner of the CSC Rio Tinto Alcan Award. Her pioneering research in the organic functionalization of silicon surfaces has impacted a variety of fields ranging from biology to electronics.

There were many excellent student oral and poster presentations. Choosing among them was very difficult but the final results are in.

The Canadian Journal of Chemistry Award for Best Student Oral Presentation went to Ayodele Fatona, McMaster University, Functional Silicone Networks via Thioacetal Linkages

The Chemistry of Materials Award for Best Student Oral Presentation went to Michael Son, McMaster University, Reactions of Silylenes with Non-Enolizable Carbonyl Compounds in Solution

There were three Chemistry of Materials awards for Posters of Distinction:

Burhan Hussein, Ryerson University, Structure-Property Study of Hypervalent Silane Porphyrins for Light Harvesting Applications

Jake Jagannathan, University of California, Davis, Spectroscopic and Mechanistic Analysis of a Silsesquioxane as a Hydrogen-Bond Donor Catalyst

Corinna Lorenz, Universität Regensburg, Solvation Experiments with Polysilicides in Liquid Ammonia

There were also two Chemistry of Materials awards for Posters, Honourable Mention:

Robert Bui, McMaster University, Dynamic Covalent Schiff-Base Silicone Elastomers

Chengcheng Rao, University of Alberta, Tunable Plasmon-Induced Hydrosilation on Silicon Surfaces

We congratulate them all and all the students who presented at this very special Si Symposium.

For information about the 50th Si Symposium, please contact Professor Sheryl Wiskur at the University of South Carolina.

Invited Speakers

  • Robert West

    University of Wisconsin

  • Tamejiro Hiayama

    ACS Kipping Awardee, Chuo University

  • Jillian Buriak

    Rio Tinto Alcan Awardee, University of Alberta

  • Farooq Ahmed

    CSL Silicones

  • Zhongwei Chen

    University of Waterloo

  • Cathleen Crudden

    Queen's University

  • Matthias Driess

    Technische Universität Berlin

  • Mark Fink

    Tulane University

  • Shigeyoshi Inoue

    Technische Universität München

  • Rebekka Klausen

    Johns Hopkins University

  • Josef Michl

    University of Colorado

  • Thomas Mueller

    Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg

  • Anne Ladegaard Skov

    Danmarks Tekniske Universitet

  • Amos B. Smith, III

    University of Pennsylvania

  • Victor Snieckus

    Queen’s University

  • Laura Turculet

    Dalhousie University

Conference Sponsors

Wacker The Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) Gelest American Elements Western Science Canadian Journal of Chemistry Western University Canada Chemistry Henkel silatronix Chemistry of Materials Momentive

Email Us For Info

created by weirDESIGNS